Indypendently http://brendonschrader.com/ Created by independents for independents: the soloists, freelancers, contractors, and entrepreneurs who are redefining work as we know it. en-us Thu, 29 Jul 2021 11:06:55 +0000 Thu, 29 Jul 2021 11:06:55 +0000 What Does COVID-19 Mean for Independent Workers? http://brendonschrader.com/life/covid-19-is-affecting-everyone-heres-how-independent-workers-can-respond Sun, 26 Apr 2020 22:31:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/life/covid-19-is-affecting-everyone-heres-how-independent-workers-can-respond One Digital Nomad on What It Takes to Succeed http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/one-digital-nomad-on-what-it-takes-to-succeed Mon, 17 Jun 2019 23:01:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/one-digital-nomad-on-what-it-takes-to-succeed How Millennials are Changing the Future of Work - And Everyone Benefits http://brendonschrader.com/trends/how-millennials-are-changing-the-future-of-work-and-everyone-benefits Tue, 30 Apr 2019 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/trends/how-millennials-are-changing-the-future-of-work-and-everyone-benefits How to Tame the Fear of Not Doing Enough http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-tame-the-fear-of-not-doing-enough Tue, 16 Apr 2019 19:06:00 +0000 By Julie Vessel http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-tame-the-fear-of-not-doing-enough How to Weather the Cycles of Freelance Life http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-weather-the-cycles-of-freelance-life-with-jake-nassif Thu, 11 Apr 2019 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-weather-the-cycles-of-freelance-life-with-jake-nassif Chris Guillebeau - Don’t Quit Your Day Job… Yet http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/chris-guillebeau-dont-quit-your-day-job-yet Tue, 02 Apr 2019 21:43:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/chris-guillebeau-dont-quit-your-day-job-yet How to Plan Ahead for Taxes as a Freelancer http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-plan-ahead-for-taxes-as-a-freelancer Wed, 27 Mar 2019 04:14:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-plan-ahead-for-taxes-as-a-freelancer Five Lessons from the Corporate World to Get Ahead as an Independent http://brendonschrader.com/grow/five-lessons-from-the-corporate-world-to-get-ahead-as-an-independent Mon, 18 Mar 2019 22:53:00 +0000 By Jennifer Laible http://brendonschrader.com/grow/five-lessons-from-the-corporate-world-to-get-ahead-as-an-independent Top Tax Time Aids for Independent Professionals http://brendonschrader.com/grow/top-tax-time-aids-for-independent-professionals Wed, 13 Mar 2019 14:22:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/top-tax-time-aids-for-independent-professionals Working Too Much Is Hurting Your Productivity http://brendonschrader.com/life/working-too-much-is-hurting-your-productivity Mon, 25 Feb 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/life/working-too-much-is-hurting-your-productivity What Do Million-Dollar, One-Person Businesses Have in Common? http://brendonschrader.com/grow/what-do-million-dollar-one-person-businesses-have-in-common Tue, 19 Feb 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/grow/what-do-million-dollar-one-person-businesses-have-in-common How I Moved Past My Self-Doubt to Build a Business and Life I Love http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-i-moved-past-my-self-doubt-to-build-a-business-and-life-i-love Tue, 12 Feb 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Ryan Estis http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-i-moved-past-my-self-doubt-to-build-a-business-and-life-i-love Differentiating Business and Household Expenses When You Work Out of a Home Office http://brendonschrader.com/start/differentiating-business-and-household-expenses-when-you-work-out-of-a-home-office Tue, 05 Feb 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/differentiating-business-and-household-expenses-when-you-work-out-of-a-home-office Three Ways to Be Happier About Work http://brendonschrader.com/life/three-ways-to-be-happier-about-work Tue, 29 Jan 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/life/three-ways-to-be-happier-about-work Top Mistakes Made by New S-corps and LLCs http://brendonschrader.com/start/top-mistakes-made-by-new-s-corps-and-llcs Tue, 22 Jan 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/top-mistakes-made-by-new-s-corps-and-llcs Design Principles for your Independent Career - Engineer the Life You Want http://brendonschrader.com/life/design-principles-for-your-independent-career-engineer-the-life-you-want Tue, 15 Jan 2019 22:46:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/life/design-principles-for-your-independent-career-engineer-the-life-you-want What’s an Employer Match, and Does It Work for My Independent Business? http://brendonschrader.com/grow/whats-an-employer-match-and-does-it-work-for-my-independent-business Mon, 07 Jan 2019 06:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/whats-an-employer-match-and-does-it-work-for-my-independent-business How to Answer "What Should I Do Next?" http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-answer-what-should-i-do-next Tue, 18 Dec 2018 21:57:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-answer-what-should-i-do-next Is a Solo 401(k) Right For You? http://brendonschrader.com/grow/is-a-solo-401k-right-for-you Tue, 11 Dec 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/is-a-solo-401k-right-for-you Good Times, Bad Times: When To Go Solo? http://brendonschrader.com/start/good-times-bad-times-when-should-you-go-solo Tue, 04 Dec 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/good-times-bad-times-when-should-you-go-solo What’s the Best Software for Tracking Business Receipts and Expenses? http://brendonschrader.com/start/whats-the-best-software-for-tracking-business-receipts-and-expenses Mon, 26 Nov 2018 19:12:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/whats-the-best-software-for-tracking-business-receipts-and-expenses How to Succeed as a Solopreneur Over 50 http://brendonschrader.com/trends/how-to-succeed-as-a-solopreneur-over-50 Tue, 13 Nov 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/trends/how-to-succeed-as-a-solopreneur-over-50 The (Un)Surprising Science Behind Productivity http://brendonschrader.com/life/the-unsurprising-science-behind-productivity Tue, 06 Nov 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/life/the-unsurprising-science-behind-productivity The Four People Every Indy Needs to Succeed http://brendonschrader.com/life/the-four-people-every-indy-needs-to-succeed Mon, 29 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/life/the-four-people-every-indy-needs-to-succeed Rewired Not Retired: Reflections by a Former Advertising Executive http://brendonschrader.com/life/rewired-not-retired Mon, 22 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Tom Gabriel http://brendonschrader.com/life/rewired-not-retired Maintaining a Wall Between Your Personal and Business Expenses http://brendonschrader.com/start/maintain-a-wall-between-your-personal-and-business-expenses Tue, 16 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/maintain-a-wall-between-your-personal-and-business-expenses The One Thing On Your Desk Killing Your Productivity (Yes, It’s Your Phone) http://brendonschrader.com/life/the-one-thing-on-your-desk-killing-your-productivity-yes-its-your-phone Mon, 08 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/life/the-one-thing-on-your-desk-killing-your-productivity-yes-its-your-phone Deciding How to Structure Your Finances As an Independent http://brendonschrader.com/start/deciding-how-to-structure-your-finances-as-an-independent Tue, 02 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/deciding-how-to-structure-your-finances-as-an-independent The Future of Benefits Is Portable http://brendonschrader.com/trends/the-future-of-benefits-is-portable Tue, 25 Sep 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/trends/the-future-of-benefits-is-portable How Independent Workers Can Save for Retirement http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-independent-workers-can-save-for-retirement Tue, 18 Sep 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-independent-workers-can-save-for-retirement What Makes Cities Attractive For Independent Workers http://brendonschrader.com/life/what-makes-cities-attractive-for-independent-workers Tue, 11 Sep 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/life/what-makes-cities-attractive-for-independent-workers How to Find Health Insurance as an Independent Worker http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-find-health-insurance-as-an-independent-worker Tue, 28 Aug 2018 20:04:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-find-health-insurance-as-an-independent-worker Getting Started on Building a Budget for Your New Business http://brendonschrader.com/start/getting-started-on-building-a-budget-for-your-new-business Mon, 13 Aug 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/getting-started-on-building-a-budget-for-your-new-business Six Things to Stop Doing Right Now If You Want To Grow Your Business http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/six-things-to-stop-doing Mon, 06 Aug 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/six-things-to-stop-doing How to Work from Home and Still Be a Happy, Functional Person http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-work-from-home-and-still-be-a-happy-functional-person Mon, 30 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-work-from-home-and-still-be-a-happy-functional-person Why Independent Workers Need Contracts http://brendonschrader.com/start/why-independent-workers-need-contracts Tue, 24 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/why-independent-workers-need-contracts How I Stay Sane as a Solopreneur http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-i-stay-sane-as-a-solopreneur Tue, 10 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Laurie Ruettimann http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-i-stay-sane-as-a-solopreneur 5 Steps to Finding a Small-Business Accountant http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-find-a-small-business-accountant Tue, 03 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-find-a-small-business-accountant Yes, You Should Take a Vacation – Here's Why http://brendonschrader.com/life/yes-you-should-take-a-vacation Tue, 26 Jun 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/life/yes-you-should-take-a-vacation What New Government Data Tells Us About the Future of Independent Work http://brendonschrader.com/trends/what-new-government-data-tells-us-about-the-future-of-independent-work Tue, 19 Jun 2018 23:21:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/trends/what-new-government-data-tells-us-about-the-future-of-independent-work Want to Work for Yourself? Train Yourself to Be a Salesperson http://brendonschrader.com/start/why-selling-is-your-most-important-skill Tue, 12 Jun 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Jake Jorgovan http://brendonschrader.com/start/why-selling-is-your-most-important-skill The Best Time-Tracking Apps for Freelancers http://brendonschrader.com/start/the-best-time-tracking-apps-for-freelancers Thu, 31 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/the-best-time-tracking-apps-for-freelancers Should I Stay or Should I Go? One Freelancer Debates Taking the Leap http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/should-i-stay-or-should-i-go-one-freelancer-debates-taking-the-leap Tue, 29 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/should-i-stay-or-should-i-go-one-freelancer-debates-taking-the-leap How Emma Siemasko Turned a Love for Words into a Thriving Business http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-emma-siemasko-turned-a-love-for-words-into-a-thriving-business Thu, 24 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-emma-siemasko-turned-a-love-for-words-into-a-thriving-business How to Bring in Consistent Business and Stop the Feast or Famine Lifestyle http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-bring-in-consistent-business-and-stop-the-feast-or-famine-lifestyle Tue, 22 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-bring-in-consistent-business-and-stop-the-feast-or-famine-lifestyle Why I Quit Corporate Life and Went Independent http://brendonschrader.com/start/why-i-quit-my-corporate-job-and-went-independent Wed, 11 Apr 2018 18:17:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/start/why-i-quit-my-corporate-job-and-went-independent How to Get Started as an Independent http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-a-get-started-as-an-independent Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:49:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-a-get-started-as-an-independent How Flexibility Changed PwC, and the Man that Made It Happen http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-flexibility-changed-pwc-and-the-man-that-made-it-happen Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:40:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/how-flexibility-changed-pwc-and-the-man-that-made-it-happen How to Fight Your Inner Critic – And Win http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-fight-your-inner-critic-and-win Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:37:00 +0000 By Julie Vessel http://brendonschrader.com/life/how-to-fight-your-inner-critic-and-win Cali Yost Talks Workplace Flexibility, and How You Can Take Advantage http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/cali-yost-talks-workplace-flexibility-and-how-you-can-take-advantage Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:08:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/cali-yost-talks-workplace-flexibility-and-how-you-can-take-advantage Five Skills to Move Toward an Independent Career While You’re Still Working in a Corporate Job http://brendonschrader.com/start/five-skills-to-move-toward-and-independent-career-while-youre-still-working-in-a-corporate-job Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:48:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/start/five-skills-to-move-toward-and-independent-career-while-youre-still-working-in-a-corporate-job The Rise of the Freelance Economy http://brendonschrader.com/trends/the-rise-of-the-freelance-economy Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:43:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/trends/the-rise-of-the-freelance-economy How to Tell Your Story and Sell Your Work in a Job Interview http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-tell-your-story-and-sell-your-work-in-a-job-interview Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:29:00 +0000 By Robin Oxley http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-tell-your-story-and-sell-your-work-in-a-job-interview Three Things To Do in your First 30 Days as a New Independent Worker http://brendonschrader.com/start/three-things-to-do-in-your-first-30-days-as-a-new-independent-worker Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:14:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/start/three-things-to-do-in-your-first-30-days-as-a-new-independent-worker What NOT to Say When Talking to a Client About Getting a New Gig http://brendonschrader.com/grow/what-not-to-say-in-a-job-interview-and-what-to-say-instead Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:02:00 +0000 By Robin Oxley http://brendonschrader.com/grow/what-not-to-say-in-a-job-interview-and-what-to-say-instead How to Teach Clients to Use a Freelancer http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-teach-clients-to-use-a-freelancer Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:28:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-teach-clients-to-use-a-freelancer How to Fire Yourself and Build Your Dream Job http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-fire-yourself-and-find-career-freedom Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:17:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-fire-yourself-and-find-career-freedom An Independent’s Guide to Gallup’s State of the American Workplace Report http://brendonschrader.com/trends/an-independents-guide-to-gallups-state-of-the-american-workplace-report Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:10:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/trends/an-independents-guide-to-gallups-state-of-the-american-workplace-report How to Brand Yourself as an Independent http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-brand-yourself-as-an-independent Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:45:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/start/how-to-brand-yourself-as-an-independent What the Rising Freelance Economy Means for Every Business http://brendonschrader.com/trends/what-the-rising-freelance-economy-means-for-every-business Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:35:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/trends/what-the-rising-freelance-economy-means-for-every-business Diane Mulcahy on Why You Should Quit Your Job Hunt Now http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/diane-mulcahy-on-why-you-should-quit-your-job-hunt-now Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:19:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/profiles/diane-mulcahy-on-why-you-should-quit-your-job-hunt-now How to Capitalize on the Rise of Remote Work http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-capitalize-on-the-rise-of-remote-work Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:02:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team http://brendonschrader.com/grow/how-to-capitalize-on-the-rise-of-remote-work Flexible Work Matters For Men, Women, And the Bottom Line http://brendonschrader.com/trends/flexible-work-matters-for-men-women-and-the-bottom-line Tue, 06 Mar 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/trends/flexible-work-matters-for-men-women-and-the-bottom-line 40 Things I’ve Learned at 40 http://brendonschrader.com/life/40-things-ive-learned-at-40 Mon, 05 Mar 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader http://brendonschrader.com/life/40-things-ive-learned-at-40